If you have been charged with DUI in Georgia, your case could be resolved through a plea bargain before it even goes to trial. A plea bargain means that you agree to a lesser charge and the penalties for this charge will be agreed upon by your DUI defense attorney and the prosecution.
For first-time DUI offenses, there is a good chance a reckless driving plea bargain can be arranged. While a reckless driving conviction will result in points on the driver's license and other consequences, the penalties are much less severe than those imposed for DUI. Depending on the circumstances involved in your case, the Atlanta DUI lawyers at Willis Law Firm may be able to get your charges reduced to reckless driving, open container, or public intoxication.
When a Plea Bargain May Be an Option
A first time DUI offense in Georgia carries such penalties as a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a 1 year license suspension. The driver will often have to participate in a driver education or substance abuse program before they are able to get their license back as well.
The state of Georgia allows prosecutors to reduce drunk driving charges with a plea bargain if it can be shown that there was some kind of legal problem with your DUI case.
In order to reduce your DUI charges, your defense attorney must be able to show that:
- Police procedure was performed incorrectly
- No Miranda Rights were read during the arrest
- There was no legitimate reason to stop the car
- A breath or blood test was administered improperly
The Willis Law Firm can work with you to evaluate the details of your case and determine whether or not a plea bargain is in your best interest. If so, you must have the assistance of a DUI defense attorney to negotiate a plea bargain.
We offer a free initial consultation to those who would like to learn more about their options to fight DUI charges in Atlanta. To learn if a plea bargain could benefit your DUI case, give our experienced team at the Willis Law Firm a call today!