Second DUI Penalties in Georgia
Counsel from a Trusted Atlanta DUI Defense Attorney
The State of Georgia takes repeat DUI offenses very seriously and outlines very severe penalties for those convicted. If you are convicted of a second DUI offense, the state believes you have demonstrated that you are prone to making reckless decisions and are probably in need of substance abuse counseling. It takes assertive and knowledgeable counsel to counter this perspective and ensure that your circumstances are carefully considered by the court.
At Willis Law Firm, our entire, award-winning firm focuses solely on providing the highest quality DUI defense service to the Atlanta community. We know what's on the line for our second DUI offense clients and how to best dispute the evidence put forth by the prosecution. Do not wait to begin your defense—call us today to schedule a free case evaluation to get started.
Second DUI Penalties
DUI penalties in Georgia significantly increase between a first and second offense. Not only are many of these penalties meant to punish the accused, but also deter them from further repeat offenses.
Penalties for a second DUI offense can include:
- Up to one year in jail (72 hours are mandatory)
- Up to $1000 in fines
- Three year's license suspension
- One year of probation (minus any time served)
- Ignition interlock device installation (following suspension)
- Court-ordered DUI/substance abuse programs (“DUI school”)
- 30 days of community service
Other penalties may apply. It should be noted that many of these penalties, such as the ignition interlock device and substance abuse programs, are an out-of-pocket expense for the convicted driver. Court costs may also apply.
What is a "look back" period?
Georgia does have a "look back" law, which means that for a prior DUI to be counted against you, it must occur within a certain period of time. Prior to 2008, the look back period was only five years, but that has been changed to ten years.
So, for instance, let's say that driver A has been arrested for his second DUI charge in 2015. His first DUI charge however, took place in 2003. Because 2003 was over ten years ago, it is not counted as a "first charge," and his 2015 offense will be treated as a first offense.
The Time to Act is Now!
Those charged with a second DUI offense—just like those charged with their first— only have 30 calendar days to request their ALS hearing and avoid the automatic suspension of your driver's license. An experienced and proven Atlanta DUI defense is ready to stand with you during this hearing, speak on your behalf, and get your DUI defense started immediately.
You don't have to face this troubling time alone. Get the representation and advocacy you need and call Willis Law Firm today!
1) DUI less-safe, 2) Reckless Driving, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane, 4) Failure to Obey Authorized Person Directing Traffic Charges Reduced to Reckless Driving
1) DUI per se, 2) DUI less-safe, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane, 4) Reckless Driving Client Acquitted of DUI
1) DUI, 2) Speeding, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane DUI was reduced to reckless driving
1) Failure to maintain lane 2) Failure to obey traffic-control device, 3) DUI DUI and failure to maintain lane dismissed
1) Failure to Maintain Lane, 2) Driver’s License not on person, 3) Reckless Driving, 4) DUI less-safe All Charges Dismissed
1) Impeding the flow of traffic, 2) DUI less-safe All Charges Dismissed
Anonymous Tip About an Impaired Driver All Charges Dismissed
Attorney Faces DUI with BAC Twice the Legal Limit Case dismissed
Blood Test Shows Presence of Cannabinoids and THC Metabolites Not guilty of DUI-Drugs
Charges Dismissed Despite a Blood Test Charges Dismissed
“Don't play around with your freedom and driving privileges.”- Hayden
“Best Lawyer I have Ever Met!”- Robert
“Greg’s confidence is unmatched”- Anonymous