How does Georgia use points for license suspension?
Having a license suspended indicates to employers, insurance companies, and others that a driver may be a liability behind the wheel. Georgia looks at the past 24 months of a driver’s record and the points they have accumulated in that time. If there have been 15 or more accumulated points (if the driver is under the age of 21 it is just 4 points) can lead to a suspension. Those that have a license suspension due to a points violation will have their driving privileges revoked and be ordered to pay an appointed fine.
The more points a traffic violation incurs, the more severe the traffic incident. Unlawfully passing a school bus, speeding more than 34 mph over the posted speed limit, and reckless driving all carry the highest amount of points. If the driver has engaged in a serious violation, their license will be automatically suspended. These violations include driving under the influence, hit and runs, and attempting to evade a police officer.
Since a DUI is an automatic license suspension, it does not accumulate any points, but carries immediate consequences. For a first time DUI, a license suspension could be suspended for one year.
After six months, a driver may be able to have their license reinstated if:
- They already have had their license suspended for 120 days;
- Complete a DUI alcohol risk reduction program; and
- Submit a $210 fine for license reinstatement fees
This reinstatement will apply for a driver to get to and from work, medical appointments, schools, and treatment programs.
Willis Law Firm have seen clients face severe hardship due to the consequences of license suspensions. A license suspension can have serious effects on your life. From preventing employment to loss of finances, DUI convictions have long-lasting consequences. If you or a loved one are facing DUI charges in Georgia, don’t let this affect your driving record.
Contact the Georgia DUI attorneys at the Willis Law Firm for a free case evaluation!