30-Day License Suspension Rule in Georgia
Arrested for DUI? You Only Have 30 Calendar Days to Save Your License!
If you have been arrested on suspicion of DUI, need to be fully aware of what the 30-day rule could hold for you. Under this law, you could lose your driver's license for one full year unless you request an administrative license suspension (ALS) hearing within 30 calendar days. How can you know if you need to request this hearing with the Department of Driver Services? At the time of your drunk driving arrest, you would have handed your license over to the officer and been given Form 1205, a yellow piece of paper that reads "Georgia Department of Driver Services" at the top.
This form serves as your temporary license, and you will only have 30 calendar days to save your confiscated license.
If you refused a blood, breath, or urine test, you will have been given this temporary license. The same is true if you attempted these DUI tests, but were mistakenly reported as refusing these tests. You have 30 calendar days from the arrest to request a hearing at the Department of Driver Services (DDS). If you fail do to so, you will automatically lose your license, even before you present your defense in court, and even if you are acquitted of your charges in the end. If you take advantage of your right to request a DDS hearing, however, you may be able to defend your driving privileges.
After a DUI arrest in Georgia, you could lose your license for:
- One year for the first license suspension
- Three years for the second DUI arrest
- Five years for a third accusation
Let Willis Law Firm Fight to Restore Your Driving Privileges
If any of the above scenarios are part of your case, or if you are unsure if your license is at risk, don't wait to call Willis Law Firm. An Atlanta DUI attorney is allowed to represent you at this hearing. Even more importantly, this would give you and your legal counsel the invaluable opportunity to see the details of the evidence being used against you. Speaking with an attorney at this time is vital in preparation of your DUI case. A skilled DUI attorney may be able to show that the police stop or DUI arrest was invalid, and that your license should not be suspended or revoked.
At Willis Law Firm, you will find an attorney who has been:
- Board-certified in DUI defense
- Certified in NHTSA standardized field sobriety tests
- Named to the Georgia Super Lawyers® list
- Given a 10.0 “Superb” rating on Avvo
In all, this Atlanta DUI firm provides more than 20 years of experience. You can rely on this team to handle your administrative and criminal trial hearings. They have successfully represented thousands of clients, and they have the track record to prove it. Don't wait to call the firm today!
Call an Atlanta DUI lawyer at Willis Law Firm today to get the skilled help you deserve for your ALS hearing.
1) DUI less-safe, 2) Reckless Driving, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane, 4) Failure to Obey Authorized Person Directing Traffic Charges Reduced to Reckless Driving
1) DUI per se, 2) DUI less-safe, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane, 4) Reckless Driving Client Acquitted of DUI
1) DUI, 2) Speeding, 3) Failure to Maintain Lane DUI was reduced to reckless driving
1) Failure to maintain lane 2) Failure to obey traffic-control device, 3) DUI DUI and failure to maintain lane dismissed
1) Failure to Maintain Lane, 2) Driver’s License not on person, 3) Reckless Driving, 4) DUI less-safe All Charges Dismissed
1) Impeding the flow of traffic, 2) DUI less-safe All Charges Dismissed
Anonymous Tip About an Impaired Driver All Charges Dismissed
Attorney Faces DUI with BAC Twice the Legal Limit Case dismissed
Blood Test Shows Presence of Cannabinoids and THC Metabolites Not guilty of DUI-Drugs
Charges Dismissed Despite a Blood Test Charges Dismissed
“Don't play around with your freedom and driving privileges.”- Hayden
“Best Lawyer I have Ever Met!”- Robert
“Greg’s confidence is unmatched”- Anonymous